Search

Quinoa: Is It Gluten Free?

It can be difficult to follow a gluten-free diet, often taking an effort to find healthier alternatives to whole-wheat items. Quinoa is a common pseudocereal that is enjoyed because of its delicious taste, impressive nutrient profile, and cooking versatility.

However, some individuals are uncertain if quinoa is gluten-free, considering its many nutritional benefits.

What is Gluten?

Gluten, such as rye, wheat and barley, is a type of protein found in some grains.

It is not an issue for most individuals to digest gluten. Yet, consuming foods that contain this protein can cause symptoms such as bloating, gas, and fatigue for those that are sensitive to gluten.

Additionally, in people with celiac disease, eating gluten can cause an immune response, causing their immune system to attack healthy cells in their body.

This may contribute to significant side effects, such as unintentional weight loss, dietary deficiencies, and diarrhea. Choosing gluten-free replacements for wheat, barley, and rye may reduce symptoms and help maintain overall health for those with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.


Gluten-Free Pseudocereal

Quinoa is naturally gluten-free, which when part of a balanced, gluten-free diet, allows it a perfect alternative to other grains.

Quinoa is also extremely nutritious, in addition to being healthy and well tolerated, making it an impressive addition to a gluten-free diet.

In fact, one study showed that the inclusion of quinoa and other grain products in a gluten-free diet substantially improved the overall nutrient profile of the diet.


For Some People It May Issues

While quinoa is naturally gluten-free, it contains some compounds that some people with celiac disease may find troublesome. Quinoa includes prolamins, which are protein types present in many grains of cereals.

Gluten, in particular, consists of two distinct forms of wheat prolamins that can cause symptoms in those with sensitivity, gliadin and glutenin. Therefore, to make sure you tolerate it without any harmful effects, it might be best to increase your quinoa intake gradually.

In facilities that also manufacture gluten-containing products, quinoa may also be processed, which may raise the risk of cross-contamination. To reduce this chance, be sure to choose a brand that is certified gluten-free if you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.


Nutritious and Beneficial

Quinoa is extremely nutritious in addition to being gluten-free and can be connected to a variety of powerful health benefits. It's one of the few plant foods considered a full source of protein for starters, which means it contains all eight important amino acids your body requires.

It is also abundant in antioxidants such as quercetin and kaempferol, which are compounds that may help prevent and defend against chronic disease from oxidative harm to your cells. It can also help promote digestive health, control blood sugar levels, and encourage weight loss, thanks to its high fiber content.

In addition, it is very nutrient-dense, offering a decent amount of many main vitamins and minerals, such as manganese, magnesium and phosphorus, with a 1-cup (185-gram) serving of cooked quinoa.


Flexible and Easy To Use

In a range of dishes, quinoa has a sweet and nutty flavor that works well. It's also easy to prepare, making it an easy substitute for other grains that contain gluten.

Simply combine two parts of water or broth with one part of quinoa in a pot to get started and bring it to a boil. Reduce the heat for 15-20 minutes and simmer until all the liquid has been absorbed.

To whip up gluten-free casseroles, crusts, salads, and skillets, quinoa can be combined with other ingredients, such as meat or veggies.

Meanwhile, it is possible to swap quinoa flour for regular flour and use it to prepare pancakes, cookies, quick bread and brownies.


To Sum It Up

Quinoa is naturally gluten-free, and those with gluten sensitivity generally tolerate it well. However, it may contain prolamins, proteins found in many cereal grains that cause some individuals with celiac disease problems.

Plus, some products may be cross-contaminated, so be sure to purchase gluten-free certified products. It may be best to gradually increase your quinoa intake if you have celiac disease to see if you can tolerate it without adverse effects.

Quinoa is a versatile, delicious, and easy-to-prepare addition to a healthy diet, gluten-free or not, for most individuals.

©2018 by Blue Zone Innergy. All Rights Reserved. Terms Of Use & Disclaimer.